I don’t really know where to start 

I have Dysthymia (chronic depression) and GAD (General Anxiety Disorder). That’s a fact. I can’t change it but I can control it to a certain extent with medication. However sometimes it develops into a major depressive episode which I can’t control – I end up becoming delusional, insomniac and extremely paranoid. I don’t want anyone to feel bad for me – I just want everyone to understand me

Despite all this I’m just a normal person. I feel like sometimes people are just too quick to sideline me as a lunatic. Maybe I am and I just haven’t realised yet but there are ways to help me:

  • Say hello. When you see me a simple acknowledgement can convince that you’re not ignoring me
  • Tell me to stop. If you think I’m obsessing over something or being mean just say so – I hate the thought of myself upsetting anyone else
  • Don’t be afraid to invite me to things. I love being invited places, even if it’s just a last minute plan
  • Remind me. When such negative thoughts are swirling around your head it’s tough to remember everything 
  • Remember that I’m just a 16 year old girl. Sometimes I feel like I have the weight of the world on my shoulders and pressures that none of my peers have. Everyone tells me that I’m mature for my age, but really I just want to be a kid

Maybe I don’t know where to start when it comes to helping myself but I know how others can help. This doesn’t just go for me but for all people suffering that you know suffering from a mental illness. In my friendship groups I’m the only one who seems to talk up about my mental illness when statistically I’m not the only one.

Leave a Reply

